Recipes

Recipe: Easy cold and flu soothing soup (keto, dairy-free, gluten-free)

This wasn’t the article I had planned for this week, but guess who woke up with a sore throat and fever yesterday morning? You guessed it, me!

Even mild acute illnesses hit me pretty hard thanks to my chronic illnesses. When “healthy,” I already walk a tightrope with energy, movement, and focus, so colds slam me into the ground. When I’m cooking for myself, I need food that’s quick and low effort (or “low spoons”) to prepare. But I also need food that makes me feel nourished and less sick.

20180719_201259.jpg

(A photo of my soup. It’s probably apparent I ate it fresh out of the cooking pot. Washing a bowl was beyond my capabilities at the time.)

Here’s a guide to making my easy, homemade, soothing soup. Nothing here is written in stone, and I don’t follow a recipe myself. If you need to, grab what you have on hand and see what you can do.

(Disclaimer: I’m not a doctor and can’t give any health-related advice. I’m simply sharing what works for me, in my kitchen.)

Ingredients:

Basic guidelines, but quantities can be modified to taste.

  • 3 cups broth or stock, meat and/or veggie (I used chicken stock from my freezer, which I made in bulk a while ago from chicken bones and scraps simmered in water– bone broth has the added benefits of gelatin and collagen)
  • Herbs and spices
  • 3 eggs, for protein (optional)
  • Small handful of fresh leafy greens, for fiber/nutrients (optional, I used homegrown dandelion greens)
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil or sesame oil, for healthy fats (optional)
  • 1 tablespoon homemade sauerkraut or kimchi, for beneficial probiotics (optional)

Herb and spice mix suggestion:

Most of these below have proven scientific value in easing cold and flu symptoms, like sore throats and congestion (for instance, note some of the sources here).

  • 1 piece of dried ginger (about 1 inch)
  • 1 tablespoon chili paste
  • 1 tablespoon dried chives
  • 2 teaspoons garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon dried sage
  • Salt and pepper

Instructions:

1. Bring broth to a boil in a pot on the stovetop, then reduce to a simmer.

2. Add the herbs/spices, stir, and simmer for at least 5 minutes.

3. Optional: If you’d like to add eggs, this will be similar to egg drop soup. Crack the eggs into a separate dish, and beat until the whites and yolks are mixed together. Take a spoon and stir the simmering spiced broth in a circle repeatedly so it swirls around. Remove the spoon and gently pour in the beaten eggs, which will swirl around with the motion of the broth. Let simmer for 1 minute.

4. Turn off and remove from heat.

5. Optional: Add fresh leafy greens if desired. They will wilt in the hot broth. Add sauerkraut or kimchi if desired.

6. Optional: Drizzle oil on top.

7. Serve immediately.

Taking the soup hot or warm should help soothe a sore throat. If you make it spicy, it can also help clear the sinuses. It’s a great source for the fluids, electrolytes, and nutrients you need to tough out a common illness. It also happens to be very yummy.

(If you enjoyed this article, please share, subscribe, and consider leaving a small tip to support future works. Thank you!)

Leave a comment